Manukau’s Journey

Manukau’s Journey is a chronology of significant events in the history of South Auckland or the Counties Manukau region (Otahuhu, Manukau City, Papakura, Franklin). From November 2010, this is the area covered by the Howick, Manukau, Manurewa-Papakura and Franklin wards of the new Auckland city, along with the Awaroa ki Tuakau ward and other northern parts of Waikato District, and the north-eastern portion of Hauraki District. Lists of sources are given. The text of Manukau’s Journey is copyright to Auckland Libraries. Other material is copyright to the originator, unless otherwise indicated.

Manukau’s Journey is updated periodically.

For more information see Manukau’s journey – a Manukau timeline.

Manukau’s Journey is compiled by Bruce Ringer for Manukau Libraries. Please contact Bruce Ringer.
Bruce Ringer.
Opinions expressed in Manukau’s Journey do not necessarily reflect the official views of Auckland Libraries and Auckland Council.